Frequently Asked Questions
BODILY INJURY INSURANCE COVERAGE
California's Financial Responsibility Law requires drivers to have valid automobile insurance with minimum bodily injury liability coverage limits of $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident.
What if the other party did not have insurance?
Unfortunately, this is too frequent an occurrence. Some drivers simply ignore California's financial responsibility law, and others inadvertently fail to pay insurance premiums on time.
If you are involved in an accident with an uninsured driver and your own insurance policy has uninsured motorist coverage, then you may seek compensation through your own insurance company. However, if you do not have uninsured motorist coverage, then your ability to recover depends on whether the uninsured driver has valuable assets or the ability to personally pay for your damages.
What if you did not have valid insurance?
If the accident was not your fault, then you may still be able to receive compensation for your medical bills, lost wages and property damage. However, you will not be permitted to obtain compensation for your pain and suffering. That is the penalty for not complying with California's Financial Responsibility Law.
What if the other party does not have enough insurance to cover your damages?
If the other party is “underinsured” and your insurance policy has underinsured motorist coverage, then you may be able to seek compensation through your own insurance company. However, your underinsured coverage limits must be greater than the other party's liability coverage limits.